TU Wien VCQ Summer School 2021 - September 6-10, 2021

May 26, 2021

We would like to cordially invite you to the “Vienna Center for Quantum Science and Technology (VCQ) Summer School 2021”
Vienna, with its long history in quantum science, will be the hosting city for this event from 6th to 10th September 2021. The goal is to bring together young and experienced quantum researchers to promote the sharing of knowledge and ideas within the community. For this purpose, we provide a platform for young researchers to learn new topics and present their own research. 

This year’s edition of the VCQ summer school will feature a diverse program focused on the emerging field of quantum technologies. Presented by distinguished physicists, the lecture series will emphasize on quantum sensing & imaging. Finally, the program includes networking and social events where researchers in all stages of their careers can meet and exchange their ideas.

We are pleased to introduce our four renowned confirmed lecturers: Philippe Bouyer (CNRS, Institut d’Optique, Bordeaux, France), Dmitry Budker  (Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz, Germany) Fedor Jelezko (Universität Ulm, Germany) and Miles Padgett (University of Glasgow, UK).

We would like to encourage young PhD and master students to present their research in quantum science in the form of talks and posters.

Despite the current restrictions and regulations concerning the Covid-19 pandemic, we are hopeful that the situation will improve and allow us to hold the summer school in-person. However, regulations may force us to hold the event online/hybrid. Our priority is safety and convenience of our participants, hence we will carefully monitor the situation and make the final decision by July 1st.

Further details can be found on our website

Please register at your earliest convenience, before June 22nd, 2021 as places for an in-person event will be limited.

We hope to see you in Vienna, personally or virtually!

Warm regards,
The local organizing committee:

Federica Cataldini (ATI, TU Wien)
Nadine Hilmar (ATI, TU Wien)

Bianca Kämpf (University of Vienna)
Pradyumna Paranjape (ATI, TU Wien)
Riya Sett (IST Austria)
Amin Tajik (ATI, TU Wien)