Distinguished Lecturer Series

The Yale Quantum Institute Distinguished Lecturer recognizes a researcher whose work significantly advances quantum science, with emphasis on the areas of mesoscopic physics, nanoscience, quantum information, quantum computing and related theoretical and mathematical topics.

Annually, a YQI Distinguished Lecturer will be invited to visit the Yale Quantum Institute with a $1000 honorarium to deliver a lecture about a specific research result of great significance or a body of important work which has advanced our understanding in one or several sub-fields of quantum science.

Candidates eligible for the title of YQI Distinguished Lecturer must be within 12 years of receiving their PhD. All travel and accommodation costs will be covered by YQI in addition to the honorarium.


2023 - Jeff Thompson - Princeton - In recognition of his pioneering work on quantum operations in Rydberg atom arrays and rare earth ions in solid state hosts, and new approaches to quantum error correction.

2022 - Emmanuel Flurin - CEA France -  In recognition of his groundbreaking work on the detection of single electron spin resonance using a microwave photomultiplier based on circuit quantum electrodynamics. 

2021 - Nathan Wiebe - University of Toronto - In recognition of his groundbreaking work in theoretical quantum computer science

2020 - Kang-Kuen Ni - Harvard University - In recognition of her groundbreaking work on the chemical and physical interactions of ultra-cold molecules

2019 - Nathalie de Leon - Princeton University - In recognition of her groundbreaking work on color centers and quantum networks

2018 - Max Hofheinz - Institut Quantique de Sherbrooke - In recognition of his groundbreaking work on circuit quantum electrodynamics and quantum limited amplifiers

2017 - Tobias Kippenberg - École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne - In recognition of his groundbreaking work in quantum opto- and electro-mechanics