SPICE-Workshop on “Dissipative Phases of Entangled Quantum Matter” May 3-5, 2021

March 29, 2021

Dear colleagues,

We are delighted to announce the SPICE-Workshop on “Dissipative Phases of Entangled Quantum Matter” which will be held from 3rd-5th of May, 2021 on-line.

Driven-dissipative quantum many body systems constitute a cross- disciplinary frontier of research encompassing condensed matter, AMO and solid state physics. Many-particle systems where quantum coherent dynamics and dissipative effects occur on the same footing, find experimental realization in cavity QED, driven open Rydberg systems, trapped ions, exciton-polariton condensates, coupled micro- cavity arrays — among the others. These platforms offer the unique opportunity to explore extensive phases of matter which cannot be encompassed through conventional statistical mechanics.  Bringing this fields together in a common discussion platform is a main goal of this workshop.

The timely workshop shall bring together experts and young researchers from different communities: condensed matter physics, cold atoms, quantum engineering, quantum optics and atomic physics. These communities will be able to interact with the aim of forming new collaborations. 

If you would like to attend the workshop, the application deadline is April 26th, 2021 (https://www.spice.uni-mainz.de/dpeqm-2021-home/) The workshop is free of charge to attend, but registration is mandatory in order to get the correct Zoom log-in information and further information.

We kindly ask you to share this information with colleagues and students that may be interested in participating. Any questions regarding the workshop can be directed to spice@uni-mainz.de.

Best regards,

Jamir Marino and Jairo Sinova 


J. Marino, Mainz
J. Moore, Berkley
G. Refael, Caltech
F. Schmidt-Kaler, Mainz

Invited Speakers

Ehud Altman, Berkley
Berislav Buca, Oxford
Giuseppe Carleo, EPFL
Iacopo Carusotto, INO-CNR BEC
Aashish Clerk, Chicago
Eugene Demler, Harvard
Sebastian Diehl, Köln
Tobias Donner, ETH Zürich
Martin Eckstein, FAU Erlangen-Nürnberg
Rosario Fazio, ICTP
Michael Fleischhauer, University Kaiserslautern
Steve Girvin, Yale University
Alexey Gorshkov, University of Maryland
Jonathan Keeling, University of St. Andrews

Alicia Kollár, University of Maryland
Zala Lenarčič, Jozef Stefan Institute
Ben Lev, Stanford University
Mikhail Lukin, Harvard
Katarzyna Macieszczak, Cambridge
Giovanna Morigi, Saarland University
Prineha Narang, Harvard
Chitra Ramasubramanian, ETH Zürich
Achim Rosch, Köln
Kushal Seetharam, MIT
Yaroslav Tserkovnyak, UCLA
Silvia Viola Kusminskiy, MPI Erlangen
David Weld, UC Santa Barbara
Athur Widera, TU Kaiserslautern