Call for nomination - Awards for Quantum Science

February 8, 2023

Following on from the successful international online workshop ‘Quantum 2022′, IOP Publishing (IOPP) is inviting nominations from early career researchers of the quantum science and technology community. Two prestigious international awards will recognise scientific excellence and help to support the development of scientists at two stages of their careers: 

  • The International Quantum Technology Early Career Scientist Award‘, recognising scientists within 8 years of completing their PhD – £2000 plus certificate.
  • The International Quantum Technology Emerging Researcher Award’, recognising scientists within 3 years of completing their PhD – £1000 plus certificate.

The award winners will  have displayed significant achievement and exceptional promise for future contributions to the field of quantum science and technology with the potential for longer term impact on the field and research community. 

In addition to a financial award both winners will be invited to give a special Award Lecture at World Quantum Day (April 14, 2023), and submit a Perspective article to Quantum Science and Technology relating to the research work they have been recognised for. 

Chaired by Professor Chaoyang Lu of the University of Science and Technology China (USTC), the awards committee will include the following leading scientists in the field of quantum research and technology:  

  • Mete Atatüre, University of Cambridge, UK 
  • Hannes Bernien, The University of Chicago, USA 
  • Eleni Diamanti, CNRS and Sorbonne University, France
  • Steven M. Girvin, Yale University, USA 
  • Nicole Yunger Halpern, Joint Center for Quantum Information and Computer Science (QuICS), USA 
  • Barry C. Sanders, University of Calgary, Canada 
  • Lorenza Viola, Dartmouth College, USA[YZ3]  

Previous winners Hannes Bernien and Nicole Yunger Halpern will help assess the quality of the award nominations. 

Dr Tim Smith, Head of Portfolio Development at IOP Publishing says: “With these awards we want to both recognise the vital contribution of young researchers to the advancement of scientific discovery and help support future careers. Quantum technology is evolving rapidly, and new and fresh perspectives are key to the development of a field that now connects several disciplines. Along with the awards committee, I look forward to reviewing what I’m sure will be another great set of nominations from the community.” 

The deadline for nominations to be submitted is 15 March 2023 and the two award winners will be announced on 14 April 2023 to coincide with International Quantum Day. 

For more information about the awards and the nomination process click here