The Willis E. Lamb Award for Douglas Stone

December 16, 2014

The Willis E. Lamb Award for Laser Science and Quantum Optics is presented annually for outstanding contributions to the field. The award honors Willis E. Lamb, Jr., famous laser scientist and 1955 winner of the Nobel Prize in physics, who gave us many seminal insights and served as our guide in so many areas of physics and technology.

The 2014 winners are:
  • Hui Cao of Yale University.
  • Douglas Stone of Yale University.
  • Vladislav Yakovlev of Texas A&M University.

The award will be presented at PQE-2015 on January 7, 2015.

The award is sponsored by the Physics of Quantum Electronics (PQE) conference and presented at its Winter Colloquium in Snowbird, Utah. This conference, now in its 45th year, attracts researchers in laser physics and quantum electronics from around the globe.

Please see for more information.