Quantum Designer Physics workshop - July 16-19, 2018

The city of Donostia from top of mount Igeldo.
March 12, 2018

The workshop Quantum Designer Physics will highlight recent advances in material systems purposefully designed for studying some of the most intriguing physical phenomena at the nanoscale. Very broadly these phenomena are related to spin, topology, and coherence, which enable the materials display quantum functionalities. Condensed Matter Physics is known for providing a rich variety of material systems in which different physics can be found and studied. With the recent development of quantum materials, it appears to be possible to devise the physics and implement a suitable material system for that physics on demand. This workshop brings together the leading experts working on quantum materials and aims at creating a stimulating atmosphere for discussing new physics on the marvelous sites of San Sebastian. We will discuss recent progress in creating ordinary and topological quantum systems in different dimensions as well as some of the most exotic quantum materials based on graphene and other n-dimensional materials. We will update on the progress in spin-based quantum computing with a look into the prominent future of quantum technologies. The quest for Majorana bound states in hybrid superconducting systems and topological quantum computing are also on our agenda. We hope the workshop will foster collaborations and inspire its attendants to tackle new problems with great ideas which make a difference for fundamental physics, lead to applications, and advance futuristic technologies.

Confirmed Invited Speakers

Ramon Aguado (ICMM, CSIC, Madrid)
Yoichi Ando (University of Cologne)
Miguel Angel Cazalilla (National Tsing Hua University, Taiwan)
Luca Chirolli (IMDEA Nanoscience)
Silvano De Franceschi (CEA Grenoble)
Fernando De Juan (University of Oxford)
Claudia Felser (Max Planck Institute for Chemical Physics of Solids, Dresden)
Pablo Jarillo-Herrero (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
Giorgos Katsaros (IST Austria)
Philip Kim (Harvard University)
Jelena Klinovaja (University of Basel)
Takis Kontos (Paris ENS)
Leo Kouwenhoven (Delft University of Technology and Microsoft Station Q Delft)
Alberto Morpurgo (University of Geneva)
Mikhail Otrokov (Donostia International Physics Center)
Stuart Parkin (Max Planck Institute of Microstructure Physics and Martin Luther University of Halle-Wittenberg)
Jason Petta (Princeton University)
Christian Schönenberger (University of Basel, Switzerland)
Pascal Simon (Université Paris Sud)
Seigo Tarucha (The University of Tokyo and RIKEN Center for Emergent Matter Science)
Sergio Valenzuela (Catalan Institute of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology)
Felix von Oppen (Free University of Berlin)
Roland Wiesendanger (University of Hamburg)
Amir Yacoby (Harvard University)
Ali Yazdani (Princeton University)
Floris Zwanenburg (University of Twente)


If you are interested in participating in this workshop, please follow the link below to register for the workshop. There is a registration fee of 300 EUR which covers the coffee breaks, lunches, and a conference dinner in Restaurante Ni Neu on July 19. A poster session is planned and a limited number of contributed talks is foreseen. Please, follow the instructions on our webpage:

If you are planning to bring a poster, please let us know here: